Club 1950

Honoring AASLD’s founding year, 1950, Club 1950 is a society of donors who contribute $1950 or more annually in support of AASLD Foundations mission- to invest in innovative hepatology research and in the people who study and treat liver disease.

Dr. Kimberly Brown, Chair of AASLD Foundation's Board of Trustees, is thrilled to see the establishment of this community which acknowledges the crucial role of continual support to sustain funding for hepatology research and those training and treating liver disease.

Commit to acting as a catalyst for hepatology sustainability and join the growing Club 1950 community by donating today

Founding Members of Club 1950


Manal F. Abdelmalek, MD, MPH, FAASLD Jacquelyn J. Maher, MD
Andres A. Albornoz, MD, FACP, FAASLD, Harmeet Malhi, MBBS, FAASLD
Alina M. Allen, MD Lopa Mishra, MD, FAASLD
Jasmohan S. Bajaj, MD, FAASLD Akiko Mizuta
Meena B. Bansal, MD, FAASLD Cynthia A. Moylan, MD, MHS, FAASLD
David Bernstein, MD, FAASLD Nghia Nguyen, MD
Lawrence M. Blatt, PhD Brittany Yee, MD
Teresa Bordeaux Mindie H. Nguyen, MD, MAS, AGAF, FAASLD
Carla W. Brady, MD, MHS, FAASLD Mazen Noureddin, MD, MHSc
Robert S. Brown, Jr, MD, MPH, FAASLD Jody C. Olson, MD
Kimberly Ann Brown, MD, FAASLD Kim M. Olthoff, MD
Rotonya M. Carr, MD, FACP Arpan  Patel, MD, PhD
Diana Cheung, DO Heather M. Patton, MD, FAASLD
Yoon Jung Cho, MD Atoosa Rabiee, MD
Raymond T. Chung, MD, FAASLD Nancy Reau, MD, FAASLD
Lily Dara, MD Mary E. McCarthy Rinella, MD, FAASLD
Jayne Day Don C. Rockey, MD, FAASLD
Julie Deal Kenneth D. Rothstein, MD, FAASLD
Andrew S. deLemos, MD Marina Serper, MD, 
Anna Mae Diehl, MD, FAASLD Vijay Shah, MD, FAASLD
Lorna M. Dove, MD, MPH David Shapiro, MD, FAASLD
Matthew D'Uva, FASAE, CAE Ashwani K. Singal, MD, MS, FACG, FAASLD
Gregory T. Everson, MD, FAASLD Richard K. Sterling, MD, MSc, FAASLD
Oren K. Fix, MD, MSc, FAASLD R. Todd Stravitz, MD, FAASLD
Brett E. Fortune, MD, MSc, FAASLD Grace L. Su, MD, FAASLD
Michael W. Fried, MD, FAASLD Tamar H. Taddei, MD, MD, FAASLD
Guadalupe Garcia-Tsao, MD, FAASLD Norah Terrault, MD, MPH, FAASLD
Robert G. Gish, MD, FAASLD Peter Tueber, PhD
Fredric D. Gordon, MD, FAASLD Hugo E. Vargas, MD, FAASLD
Nadege Gunn, MD Elizabeth C. Verna, MD, MS, FAASLD
Wendy Henderson, PhD, FAASLD John M. Vierling, MD, FACP, FAASLD, AGAF
Steven K. Herrine, MD, FAASLD Philip Vutien, MD
Samar H. Ibrahim, MBCHB, FAASLD Kymberly Watt, MD
Donald M. Jensen, MD, FAASLD Julius M. Wilder, MD, PhD
Naudia L. Jonassaint, MD, MHS, MBA  
David E. Kaplan, MD, MSc, FAASLD, FACP, AGAF           
Saul J. Karpen, MD, PhD, FAASLD  
Andrew P. Keaveny, MD, FRCPI, FAASLD  
Saikiran Kilaru, MD  
W. Ray Kim, MD, FAASLD  
Sonal Kumar, MD  
Tatyana Kushner, MD, MSCE  
Jennifer C. Lai, MD, MBA  
Cynthia Levy, MD, FAASLD  
Keith D. Lindor, MD, FAASLD  
Anna S. Lok, MD, FAASLD  
Rohit Loomba, MD, MHSc, FAASLD  
Michael R. Lucey, MD, FAASLD  
Bruce A. Luxon, MD, PhD, FAASLD  

Club 1950 FAQs

Any donor giving $1950 and above will be included in the Club. The donor year is based on the calendar year; however, if you choose to give in December each year, we will extend the benefits to you over the course of the next year.   

While there is no formal pledge commitment, we hope donors will join annually. We hope you will continue to give at or above that level each year moving forward, but committing as a Founding Member does not automatically opt you in for the following year. Contact us at to set up a renewing gift. 

Yes, you can commit to Club 1950 by setting up a monthly recurring gift of $162.50.* Join the growing Club 1950 community by setting up your monthly gift today.

*You must be logged into your AASLD account to make monthly contributions. Payments can be made via a checking account or credit card. If you want assistance setting this up, please contact us at 




Yes. The AASLD Foundation is tax-exempt under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions made to the AASLD Foundation are deductible charitable contributions to the extent permitted by 170 of the Internal Revenue Code. 

  • Recognition 
    Honored prominently in prestigious gatherings and communications:
    • Awards & Honors Ceremony at The Liver Meeting
    • Annual Impact Report
    • Quarterly updates
    • Virtual Donor Wall*
  • The Liver Meeting 
    • Preferred housing and registration
    • Access to the VIP Lounge (Convention Center)
    • Access to our new and exclusive 1950 Clubhouse in the headquarters hotel
    • A guest pass to each Lounge
    • Priority use of the Club 1950 Meeting Room (Convention center)
    • Club seats are available during the general session at The Liver Meeting
    • Invitation to the Research Awards Showcase
    • Invitation to the Welcome Reception
  • Other Experiences will include invitations to other special events throughout the year.
  • Communications will include a quarterly newsletter from the Foundation.
**More benefits are to be announced and subject to change.

Club members are invited to a special Welcome Reception, the Leadership Giving Challenge Winner Reception, and the Awards & Honors Ceremony and Reception at The Liver Meeting. We also have a social event at DDW exclusively for Club 1950 members.  

For additional information on Club 1950, contact Julie Deal, Executive Director of AASLD Foundation, for more information by: